Architectural Modelling and Rendering

Nats

It seems from reading these posts that there are two ways to convert a 2d AutoCAD drawing into a 3d model:

1. Convert the 2d model into 3d within Autocad, export it as a 3ds model into 3dstudio max and texture and render the 3d faces there.

2. Import the 2d cad plans and elevations into 3d studio max and convert them into 3d model by extruding etc.

However from what I see (and Im pretty new to 3ds max myself but not to AutoCAD 2d drawing) that it seems to be quite difficult to accurately draw (to the nearest mm etc) in 3ds max in the same way that you can in AutoCAD. But at the same time rendering an AutoCAD generated model in 3ds max sounds like it can be time consuming in terms of correcting unclosed shapes and correcting the normals.

I am trying to get into serious 3d architectural modelling with a view to doing it for a full time job at some point. I really want to be creating accurate photorealistic renderings from 2d plans given to me by an architectural firm. So in people's view here what is the best way to do it? I like the idea of doing everything in 3ds max but can you draw relatively accurately?

And then the second question is related to design changes, which are inevitable in most jobs. Which way do you find makes it easier to change a 3d model once it has been created if all you are given is a few newly updated 2d drawings? Would it be easier to change your own AutoCAD 3d model any then have to reimport it and render it anew, or to import the new 2d plans into 3ds max and then try to decipher what has changed and alter your 3dstudio max model wholly in there?

I cant find any decent tutorials on this kind of thing and its basic to the way I choose to go in the future - at the moment Im learning 3ds max modelling in depth but should I perhaps be learning AutoCAD 3d modelling instead!??