hard drive speed and rendernodes??

Alright - here's my situation: I'm an Arch grad student and have a ton of images to crank out for my portfolio and thesis within the next 5-6 weeks and I'm still trying to work out what configuration is ideal for rendernodes and since my wallet is getting a little thin (i'm a poor student after all and, well - case in point - I've had to switch from the lovely black goodness of Guiness = $4/pint to PBR = $1.5/bottle. . . talk about sacrifice : ) anyway . . .) I'm trying to pinch pennies when considering the hard drives for the rendernodes I plan on building soon. My specs ~

rendering from:

Boxx 7400 - dual 248 opterons...yadda-yadda

preliminary renderer - Max 7 + Final Render

secondary renderer - FormZ 5.0... whatever the latest is... 5.0.6

(90% of the rendring tasks will be in Max and FR)

Node specs:

processors: 1.6lv D1 stepping xeons @ 3.0ghz

mobo: Asus PC-CL

ram: 1gb ram

HD: whatever hd is cheap

Vid card: any PCI vid. card.

PSU: AMS 460w eps 12v

Case: antec slk3000b or Chenming CMUI-P-601 . . .Server case with insane airflow - 90 cfm sunon 120's

[... these specs were recommended from the lads over @ 2cpu.com - still any and all comments appreciated! This system has already been referred to (11th line down) here:] http://www.cgarchitect.com/vb/showpost.php?p=111080&postcount=16)

I'm thinking that having a faster HD benefits greatly if you're out of RAM and it starts caching on the HD, swap file, and working with large render files (which is the basis for my concern!)... therefore slowing things down and negating the implementation of powerful processors. I've always planned on 1gb of ram for each node since 2gb would add another $80 bucks or so to each node, but I'm wondering if the extra speed of faster hd's would be worth it... 4200 - 5400 - 7200?? and still be cheaper than upgrading to 2gb of ram??