render times

dynaman

guys,

i'm pretty new to vray and crash coursing myself into this thing. for the most parts loving the results, but some things are frustrating.

i know this is a VERY general question, but i'm wondering what kind of typical render times people are able to achieve. i just finished a small retail interior, fairly complex lighting - 50+ spotlights, some glowing tubes, area light at glazing. with medium quality setting for IM, a 4000x3000 render took 15 hours. no glossy traced reflections.

by lowering quality settings, i was able to produce 640x480 previews in about 6 minutes.

do these times seem reasonable?

and what's the deal with glossy reflections? even with minimal usage, it kills my render times.

i should mention that i am using an AMD dual core 2.2Ghz, 2GB ram.

if anyone has any tricks to speed things up without losing quality, i'd love to know...

you are running a decent machine and your render times do not seem that bad, however here is couple of tips that should speed things up:

-use photometric lights

-do not use raytracing shadows, use shadow map

-use vray materials

that should speed your rendering times dramatically... Please let us know how it goes

thanks for that! when i first started checking out vray, i thought i'd read somewhere that it didn't support shadow maps, so i haven't been using them at all. i'm sure that alone will make a huge difference (especially in the case of 50+ spotlights!!)

i will also have to test out the photometrics. this is one that i have heard mixed opinions on. some have said that they slow down render times.

i have already made the switch to vray materials. definitely makes it run better (if not only faster).

I'm new as well but I have an idea

50+ lights?

the number of lights has a significant impact over rendering times anyway!

if you let them all to be part of GI calculation you just make it even worse.