archicad and photoshop

tom10

Hi there can anyone help?

I am currently a 2nd year student studying architecture and although most of us use autocad i have just started to use archicad, so i am still trying to grasp the fundamentals of the program. getting there tho lol.

We have to produce precentation boards of our work and in the past i have used photoshop to set up a2 sheets and have exported 2d drawings into photoshop. I have tried to do this with archicad but i am unable to export my drawings as the scale is always changed when i open up the document in photoshop. can anyone help, does anyone know what to save a document as so this does not happen. help lol

thanks

tom

It depends,

a) What file format are you exporting the drawings as? raster image files (jpg, bmp, tff, etc) or Vector formats ( dwg, illustrator, etc)

b)Since it's Photoshop, and presentation panels that you're talking about exporting to, are you sure you mean 'scale' or might perhaps be referring to resolution and image size (tying back to the first question, obviously)?

One option you might consider is to export the ArchiCAD image files as .pdf files and then just open directly in Photoshop and resolve any resolution/scale issues from there.

Sorry maybe I wasn’t clear. Say for arguments sake I have produced the plan drawings for a three story building at a scale of 1:100 and I wanted to show each floor plan on one a2 sheet. I would set up a white a2 canvas in Photoshop and open up each plan drawing and simply transfer each plan as a new layer. The problem occurs when I save the plans in archicad. I am not sure what file format to save as. If I save as a jpeg then the scale of the plans is altered when opened up in photoshop. I was told by a friend who works in a practice to save the plans as either an eps or PDF, which I believe you mentioned. However in archicad when saving work I am not given that option.

Does that help explain my situation?

Sorry if this is a stupid question

Thanks