Boolean or not Boolean

3darchitect

Hi all - I'm a freshman in college w/ no formal training on 3ds. I'm working to teach myself 3ds8 for my firm. I'm working on a rendering project right now, and I have some questions. The building I'm rendering is symetrical, but it has irregular planes and virtually no flat walls. I got the core of the building done (I'm doing an exterior rendering only), but I'm having issues deciding how I want to put in my windows/doors. Apparently, Boolean isn't the best way to go, but I have no idea. I've tried using the Boolean, but it isn't working. I wanted to make my walls by drawing a pline in AutoCAD for the exterior of the walls, extrude it up in 3ds, then import that and then use the boolean to cut out the middle of the box. It worked fine, but for some reason, the Boolean simply didn't work - it just didn't subtract the inner box (its not really a box, but oh well). I tried the same thing for the windows. I drew plines around the windows in AutoCAD for one elevation, imported them to 3ds, extruded to a solid, then tried to subtract w/ boolean, but it didn't work. So.....what should I do? Any ideas? Thanks!

I try to stay away from booleans all together, can get ugly when your doing large facades of windows (schools, office buildings, etc.)...I find line modeling and converting to polys, slicing, and extruding the cleanest...but tommy's right, check out the tutorials and the threads and choose the method that best for you

A while ago I asked a question here about aligning things to strangely angled objects. I practically wrote the CAD "align" function as a script to align two or more objects based on their normal direction (which turned out to be a waste of time).