Vray hard Crashing during or after Prepass 5, HELP!!

whoodt

HELP!!

I'm using 3ds max 2008 on a mac with boot camp, so basically on XP.

2GB ram. Vray v1.5

I'm rendering a scene at 5850X2600 px. All seems fine until it hits prepass 5 or after, then poof, 3ds just disappears off the scene, no warnings, errors. Like it was never launched.

I'm not using Vray Frame buffer, but should I? The scene is not overly complicated, just a few (around 12) organic blobs (think lava lamp, turbo smoothed iteration = 4) with a reflective and slightly refractive material, and 3 lights (vray light material) Pretty basic.

I've done other work of the same scale, if not more complex on the same hardware setup but things rendered fine. Any suggestions? THANKS!

This is a memory problem I think, I have some experience with that. Max crashes and just shuts down without a warning.

Some tips that worked for me:

Adaptive QMC uses less memory than subdivision.

Uncheck 'show calc phase'

And in your 'system tab' you can indicate how many dynamic memory max uses, increase it too 1000mb and change geometry to dynamic beneath it.

These are things I did, and worked for me.

I work with Max 9 and this version only uses 1.5 gb, of the 2gb so perhaps there lies the problem (don't know with max 2008, perhaps it can use the full 2gb)

Check your processes when your rendering, and see how many memory max uses just before it shuts down.

Greetz

Prepass 5? That's a lot of prepasses. How large is the IRMAP? How many polys are your 12 blobs with 4 iterations of smoothing making? What's the memory utilization at? Are you using the /3GB switch? What are the materials like? All this stuff can add up to a surprising amount of memory used.

Yeah, I dont know why. Usually it's just 4 prepasses, but maybe the material I had bumped it up to 5?

IRMap was set at Very High without modifying any settings.