Microstation User Interface Customization

3darchitect

I'm an architecture student at the end of my sophomore year. I've been teaching myself CGI with an architecture emphasis for a few years now. I'm trying to make Microstation my main modeling program (I'm teaching myself 3dsmax with Vray for rendering). MS is nice in a lot of ways, but it lacks a logical work flow in its UI. I've tired customizing it, but its rather counter intuitive in how the customization works. The main things that I'm looking for is a way to create my own tool bars with the buttons that I need (any button). Since MS doesn't use a command line, I have to rely on buttons. This is the main thing I would like to accomplish - so that I can make the buttons that I use for modeling most available. Also, it would be nice to be able to save this interface (to a file possibly) so I can bring it into any other computer I need to work on.

I've been fiddling with it for a while, but its getting annoying, so I hope someone on here can help. Thanks!

Why not setup some shortcuts then. Most of the tools can be opened and docked also they are all there really you just have to open them. Creating your shortcuts is done using the keyin function. I use MS XM all the time and I find it very easy to use especially in 3D because of the accudraw tool

Maybe list some of the problems you have with the UI

I'm an ADT person from the very beginning. I love drawing in lines and having the flexibility to manipulate lines. I like MS XM because it offers a lot of great tools for manipulating solids, but its so different than ADT that its clunky for me to use.

In ADT I use keyboard shortcuts all the time as well as the command line, so this is one thing that catches me when I go from ADT to MS. I'll try configuring some shortcuts and see if I can get comfortable with it.

For specifics, I found a way to make the ESC button cancel a command, but can you make it so ESC is the replacement/equivalent of F12 (deselect)?