Rendering a perforated steel facade...

Quirky

Hi,

I'm going to be drawing up a building with a perforated steel facade, as well as consisting of a number of steel mesh/ grated floors and walkways. I do all my drawing in Autocad and then import the drawing into Vis to render. Is there a tool to set a transparency to a material for the perforations, similar to a bump, or will I have to model each hole?! I tried modelling the steel mesh floor and the file became so big it was unmanageable!

Thanks

Thanks. I was thinking to use a map, bu if viewed up close is there a way for the perforations to appear transparent? Sorry, I'm a bit of an amateur on Vis. The steel grate walkway is causing me most problems (see link for an idea of the type of material I'm after). It's quite important that gaps are apparent in the texture and that the depth of the grate is visible... Can this be achieved with a map?

http://www.usffab.com/usffab/images/USF6685.jpg

Thanks

Thanks. I was thinking to use a map, bu if viewed up close is there a way for the perforations to appear transparent? Sorry, I'm a bit of an amateur on Vis. The steel grate walkway is causing me most problems (see link for an idea of the type of material I'm after). It's quite important that gaps are apparent in the texture and that the depth of the grate is visible... Can this be achieved with a map?

http://www.usffab.com/usffab/images/USF6685.jpg

Thanks

yup - opacity mapping is the solution. all you need is a b&w map

I tried modelling the steel mesh floor and the file became so big it was unmanageable!

I have a modeling approach that you might consider using. When your camera is right on top of the subject, you really need to go with geometry. A large mass of modeled grating can quickly become unmanageable, but it doesn't have to...:)

Modeling:

1. Create a plane and assign an appropriate number of segments to it

2. Convert the plane to Editable Poly and select all of the edges