??? to 3ds Max - Modeling Software

3darchitect

Ok, so I know that this kind of thread has been posted many many times, and I apologize for making many of you repeat yourself for the nth time. However, I can't see to find something that works for me in the 3d modeling realm.

I'm an undergrad architecture student who wants to specialize in 3d Arch Illustration. I would like to rende using 3ds/vray (really, I just want to use vray, but you can only use it with max right now). However, because 3ds is the program I need to import to, I would like some help in this area.

What good modeling programs integrate well with 3ds?!

I am not a fan of Sketchup - the way that it models in faces primarily rather than solids is very distracting for me. I have tried and tried to use MicroStation over and over, but I always get frustrated with its little quirks and badly organized and customizable UI (I'd love to learn it, but its really frustrating for me). I have tried using AutoCAD Architecture 2009 to model, but its 3d powers are not the best.

I guess, I would like to know what people who use 3ds to render use to model. And, if you use 3ds to model, how do you make that work with precise architectural modeling?

I use Microstation all the time and I love it. I would stick with it you will get faster and faster. Learn how to use the accudraw really well and how to save your accudraw settings. Also look into using references and models. It would be interesting what you find bad about microstation?

The booleaning is second to none I think, it never fails!!!!

I am not a fan of Sketchup - the way that it models in faces primarily rather than solids is very distracting for me.?

Hey Luke,

Solids vs faces .... ALL MODELING IN 3D is vertex, edge and polygons. Even in Acad you have the tool set to modify solids at the fundamental level of faces-polygons.