3DS Max or Autocad

Sergio

Hi all!

Few years ago when I started with 3D Visuals of architecture, I did it in 3DS Max exclusively. Just recentley, friend of mine told me that is much quicker modelling in Autocad, and importing as *.3DS file for applaying materials and light in max. So 2 months ago, I started learning Autocad. Now I am busy, with a house in Cad, and I came across some problems whitch I could solve in Max, but was struggling in Cad. For example, in Max you can edit solids, by selecting nodes, and moving them, in max you can easy restrict moving to a single plan, and stuff like that. I am sure most of you are using Cad form modeling and Max or LS for rendering, I would like to know your opinions on this metter, are you restricted in Cad compering to Max, or that is only me? And how much you are quicker modeling in Cad, oppose modelling in Max (if quicker)or this is only metter of some people get used to certein software. I know, bottom line is, all the tools are good, but some are different in certein areas. I would like to see your opinions.

Regards Sergio! ;)

i wont go into a long massive answer here but just to say you have to know the software.

it's what you feel at ease with and what you're used to.

i use max and acad, but acad is much more accurate and faster for modelling than max is, which is what it was designed for.

max is much better at organically shaped objects than acad, but drastically lack acad's complete accuracy and control.

Hi Sergio,

Here go my 3 cents...

Autocad can be incredibly fast for hard-surface modeling such as straight walls, windows, doors, floors and ceilings (the close polylines + extrude + booleans workflow is unbeatable.