3D/furniture modelling tool/program

kennethnedal

Hello to all you members of this forum! This is an interesting way of sharing creative knowledge and ideas!

I’ll start by saying I'm a confused furniture designer. Previously, I've used AutoCAD for 3D modelling, and 3ds Max for visualising. What I need now is to get my hands on a good, 3D/furniture modelling tool/program (if one exists?).

I’m happy to continue using 3ds Max, but, as I’ve never used it for modelling, I feel I need to find something really concrete (a technique) within the program to focus on. I also need to know what to exclude/ignore.

I would be very grateful to anyone who can reply to this post.

Thank you!

Edited by kennethnedal

my preference is NURBS

nurbs from what program? I've been considering getting a Rhino License in the office to aid in some of our furniture modeling. Would love to hear from someone with both Rhino and Max experience if they think Rhino's capabilities stand out beyond what max can do.

• 2 months later...

I hate to bring up an old post. But Brodie Neill, a furniture designer out of London uses Rhinoceros with the T-Splines plug-in to model his furniture for production.

http://www.brodieneill.com/

I worked with him on my thesis project and was blown away by some of his work. I used 3d Max polygon modeling to create my piece. but that was because I did not know how to model using Rhino. I'm trying to learn it at home right now as I see it would be a much easier workflow.

On that note, Is there any good tutorials out there for nurbs modeling furniture using rhino?