Organizing the model.

Hector

Hello:

I'm new to Lightwave. I'm creating a complex architectural model. I don't find a logic way to organize all the elements within the model. By example:

Say that I have a door within the model, I would like to have the door itself plus the frame and the door lock all within a single entity that I could move around the model without having to select all points or polygons.

I would like to edit that entity anytime to make changes. I'd like to have copies of that entity anytime I need a door.

I would like to have entities within entities. So that have the "room" entity which contains the door "entity" and the window entity and so on.

How can I achieve that, or anything similar?

At the moment I am using only layers. But if I need a layer for every single element in the model without the posibility of "grouping" them in some way I will end up with hundreds of layers.

Then, when I send the model to Layout, the content of each layer is not linked to other parts of the model, so if I move the wall, the door will remain in the samy place, do you know what I mean??

Another issue is size. If I create a cube of 1x1x1m and I come back after two hours of work and want to change the size to 2x2x2 where can I type the new size?

I am shure I am missing something here.

Thanks

Hector

Hi,

by layer, elements must be in the layer to be moved as a group, or you can set up selection groups a.k.a "Parts" refer to the manual (27.24) Groupings/Polygon Parts for more information.

Regarding the cube, unfortunately LW Modeler is not history driven therefore you will need to re-scale the cube by a factor of 2, or re-do the cube. After a cube is done LW Modeler forgets that you did a cube; this is a weak design limitation.

When we work with LW for large arch jobs, we have layers such as doors, concrete, slabs, window frame, glass; etc? doors will have all elements within the layer.

David

Hi too,