Need a MAYA user to do a Review

• Administrators

Jim Lammers over at Trinity Animation has offered a copy of the his new Maya 4.5 Fundamentals book if we review it. If you are adept at writting reviews, have a good working knowledge of Maya, please let me know and I'll set it up.

Jeff

[ January 20, 2003, 10:44 PM: Message edited by: Jeff Mottle ]

where do u work Chris? what do you maya for?

I switched to 3dsmax - rather Viz, bc its more geared to architectural stuff being much more compatible with ACAD. I like maya for animation. it kicks butt!

I know maya , but I've never written a review before............ :(

Jeff... Yeah, I'd love to do it, email me at home or work with the details.

Cesar... I have switch careers and now work in the entertainment industry. I work for Digital Domain, a major visual effects company. Still "involved" in architecture, I now build digital cities for CG environments. I have a love/hate relationship with Maya... like most people.

We model all in Maya which is great for film, since accuracy is not very important. Makes modeling very fast... I can bang out major buildings in very little time, since it only needs to be as accurate as a pixel. Plus some imperfections in the model help sell the building as more real. Perfect walls look too CG. I want to start getting into Houdini do start doing parametric buildings... but I am getting off-topic...

Hi Chris, thanks for the info. Is there any difference despite the accuracy between modelling architecture in Maya compared to other programs ?

I'm a long time FormZ user and when i bought Lightwave two years ago i wanted to use it only for texturing and rendering, but than i dicovered some nice features in Lightwave's modeller and now i modell in both prog's, but still start in FormZ.

If you start talking about Houdini i start talking about Shade3D, although i have to find it anywhere on my backups ;)