starting to make a website...what all needs to be learnt?

chow choppe

Hi everyone

i am a 3d artist and want to get my website done. i have a domain name and the website looks crappy at the moment.i got it done from a young lad but i am not happy with the result.

Problem is that i dont have any knowledge in this field. i know flash a little bit only but have no experience in web design or programming.

I can hire someone to do it but its not fitting my budget and still i am not sure whether he will be able to make exactly what i want.

So i am thinking of trying it out on my own. I have time these days to learn also so why not try to jump into this field

Can u people guide me where to start from as a beginner and then move onto the next advanced level so that i should be able to make a good looking and creative website

Thanks A lot in advance.

Please guide

The easiest way for you to build your own site would be to use an out of the box solution like joomla, drupal or wordpress. All these are easily installed (usually offered from your hosted accounts dashboard), have numerous dedicated How To sites for questions & answers and you can install precreated site themes that can then be customized to your liking. All of these solutions come with easy to install plugins for contact forms, image galleries, etc. so it really makes life easy.

Hi everyone

Can u people guide me where to start from as a beginner and then move onto the next advanced level so that i should be able to make a good looking and creative website

Thanks A lot in advance.

Please guide