Confused about making a CV

nelpiper

Hi guys.

This might sound stupid but I'm very confused about putting examples of my work on my CV. The problem is that I've been working for a company for almost 2 years and don't really have examples that I produced by myself, rather as a part of a team.

So, the question is when I send off my CV to the outter world I'm gonna have to direct people to my company's website. Is this correct? Am I being "dumb" and sort of?

Thanks.

If you can't show a prospective employer examples of work that you've done then why would they be interested in you in the first place? I also don't think it's a good idea to have other firms looking at your work on your current employers web site, it just seems dangerous. If I were you I'd set up my own site and send that to whom ever you want looking at it.

You seem to be right somehow, But there should be some solutin to it. I have though started making some renderings of my own but a few wont just be enough and every render takes approx 2 hrs, sometimes more, sometimes less and also we need to consider the time for modelling, texturing, lighting which together sums up to a lot of time. So if we were to make a good portfolio, it would take a long long time and in that time may be we would miss some good opportunities???

So either we have made a big mistake by only doing the company's work and not making our showreel or may be there could be some other solution that is not clicking...???

I don't know about the UK but here in the US an artist has a reasonable right to show their work, and in the case of seeking new employment there really is no other way to show what your skills are. I'd look at it like this, your current employer isn't going to be hurt in any way other than the potential loss of one of their employees. Also if the work is on their web site where anyone visiting it can see it then any argument of confidentiality or secrecy is thrown out the window.

• Administrators