Marine Drive House

Umlungu

This is a new job that i've been doing after hours. Its a really nice house overlooking the ocean. when i got this job i found out that there was no drawings of this place... eish. So i had to measure up this place by hand and draw it up in Autocad.

I modeled it up in Autocad, and then moved it to 3ds max for the rest of the work, this is how far i am so far. still have a long way to go, especially since im new to 3ds max.

i've seen a lot of nice grass out there in the renders, could some1 post a link to a tutorial i could do, or give me help on what to do? I use to do my 3d's in Autocad, there were no fancy grass tools, only grass maps, but that looks terrible.

decent modeling job so far - how did you do those roof tiles in autocad ?

I actually did it in max, i could do it in autocad, but i already had a roof tile layout in max that i just rotated and trimmed. so the less work kind of won me over, lol.

But everything else was modeled in Autocad

These grass tutorials are great:

http://www.peterguthrie.net/blog/2009/03/vray-grass-tutorial-part-1/

http://www.peterguthrie.net/blog/2009/04/vray-grass-tutorial-part-2/

A colleage of mine did this tutorial, that refrences Peter Guthries tutorial alot, basically does a similar thing just using a slightly different method:

http://www.jamesshaw.co.nz/blog/?p=400

These grass tutorials are great:

thanks for the link, but can i just 1 question, im still new to max, i noticed that in all those tutorials they used Vray, I dont have Vray, can i do the same thing using mental ray? what should i do?

• 3 weeks later...