House Exterior - First Visualisation

Ausmax

Hi,

This is my first attempt at a visualization.

Any constructive feedback would be really appreciated.

The brick wall was a challenge for me - I realize that it isn't perfect.

My uvw mapping skills need some work. Also understanding how many bricks fit on a width of a wall.

Also the roof capping I found challenging. Tried to use a roof designer app.

to help me create it but I ended up creating this myself.

Grass - well I think l need to start working with Proxy objects instead of bitmaps.

I used a daylight system with Mental Ray for this image. Could anyone tell me how to lighten the shadows using this method?

Thanks for your help in advance

Edited by Ausmax

hi friend...

overall model is good. I observed following things...

1. If u want to make brick as perfect, create one box with same dimension as original brick (eg, 9"x4.5") u refer that box and start adjust ur values of uvw parameters.If u want to assign start point somewhere go to uvw >gizmo then move till u satisfied.

2. Overall lighting makes ur model dull. Sun light (photoetric) or vray light will give better look..

3. either Camera angle need to be changed or vegetation to be added behind the house. and plz use little brighter sky.

Looking forward good works from u...

cheers,

Karuna

Agree with the above, the bricks are way too big... You can google the size of bricks, and then work out how wide/high your texture is in real world units. Apply the UVW map to the model and set the sizes to match those of the real world size of your texture..

Your roof texture needs a bit of work; it looks very blurry which may be as simple as turning down the blur value of your bitmap... Default is 1 for some reason so you should change it to 0.1 in most cases...

Your shadow areas are very dark; make sure you have the FG bounces set to at least 4 to get some light into these areas...