Work Experience

Im a 14 year old student, and I am currently looking for work experience. I am really interested in 3D modelling and animation, and am becoming more advanced in Lightwave every day. Does anyone have any suggestions on places that do 3D modelling or design in any form, preferrably in the UK. Also, I am not entirely sure what career general modelling is classed as, if at all (3D Animator, architect...?). I know that CG covers a wide range of options. I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me on career paths that are related to modelling or animation. Thanks.

Boy, you are going to be some competition! Just kidding.

Well, you've certainly got time on your side, so don't worry about doing exactly one thing. Buy some books off of amazon (I suggest reading the reviews before deciding) on modeling, character animation, but don't forget the artistic side. I'd take as many art classes you can in school and learn some traditional methods (lighting, color, composition) - like drawing, etc., etc.

Next, I'd keep looking around online and reading what others, with knowledge behind them, think are good. Learn WHY they are good, what makes them better than others, etc. Don't be afraid to ask, like you are doing here. You will be surprised how helpful people can be, it's really a great community online.

A good resource for current graphic design, motion graphics, web design, and 3D is http://www.computerlove.net . It's a little too much of the same stuff, but there are the best on there, too.

Find an idea after you get the basics down, perhaps work with your art teacher, and pursue it until you are satisfied, then move onto a new one. It's better to complete something that you are happy with than try to do 100 things in an incomplete fashion.