Vray Distributed Rendering issues

Mike T

For some mysterious reason I'm unable to get DR to work.

This is my setup:

I have a main work station running XP 32, with max 2010 32bit, and vray 1.5sp4

I have 2 machines (about to be 4 if i can get DR running) for DR. 1 is a xp 64, the other xp32.

I've added the 2 render nodes (servers) to DR setup and they resolve. I can even ping the other computers and they ping just fine. The spawner works and is running fine on the two computers. I get No DR buckets, "no host for DR".

I've been using Vray and max for 5 years in an office, and networking has always been iffy. I'm setting this up at home and its been a nightmare. Does anyone have any suggestion. HELP PLEASE:

fixed IP on your workstations?

Calling machines by their IP instead of station names usually works better.

Also, to get everything working fine in DR, you should send a test Backburner render file first, so all the needed files are there.

( sorry to ask this.. but if it is not a legal version of Vray, DR will not work, even if you started DR on the slaves machines. just trying to find the problem. Of course, if you have a legal version, discard this option)

Distributed rendering only works with render nodes (PC's) that have been used to render jobs in Backburner first. I don't know the technical reason for this, but that is how Vray DR works.

The probem you may have is that 64-bit Backburner jobs can only be rendered on 64-bit PC's. If one of your PC's is 32-bit, then it can only handle jobs submitted as 32-bit through Backburner. Therefore, you will only be able to use Vray DR with the 32-bit version of 3dsmax.

I've got the same situation with several of my workstations, so I can sympathize with your situation. Upgrading all operating systems to 64-bit is the only solution, as far as I know.

Good Luck

TimF