Having serious gamma issues with 3ds max....please help !

djwang

hi all thankyou for reading my thread

i have been using 3ds max for about 3 yrs now and have just started using the mental ray renders that ships with max as i mpreviously used vray.

i have a tricky problem that when i render my images they look great on screen.

in photoshop they look great on the screen

in print they look dull. in that they do not hold the same colours mid yellows look creamy.

i beleive this to be something to do with gamma. so i set my gamma/lut in max to 2.2 affect colours and material editor checked. my input and out put bit maps set to 2.2 gamma

alll looks good. i have even tried to overide the gamma setting when i save the image. no luck

i have set the gamma when pre saving the output file (so the files is auto saved when max finishes rendering)no joy either.

when i take the image into photoshop CS4 the image is untagged so i have tried to convert the image to adobe 1998 as well as trying adobe srgb, i have also assigned my monitor profile then converted to either srgb or adobe 1999..no change.

it seems as if the gamma information is still not stored into the image when rendering. can any body point me in the right direction...

my monitor is calibrated with a spyder pro 3.

i use the canon pixma 9000 pro with the canon paper and inks with the correct printer profile supplied by canon.

what is also strange and also leads me to a a gamma embedded problem is that i have downloaded a few test cards adobe 1998 gamma 2.2 and guess what ? the print matches my screen. i did an adobe srgb and that was close to my screen but i little duller. so i dont think its the monitor or printer........

has anybody elese experienced this problem as i have never seen anything like it..

am at the point of cracking up here.

thankyou for reading my post

DJWANG

my system is

duel xeon 5650

24 GB

nvidia FX4800

pci express OCZ revodrive.