Heavy Question

Ironman

I realize this is my first post so please forgive the seriousness of this topic but from my research this forum seems to be the best place to ask it.

I'm an in house viz guy, I've been doing this for over 10 years and I always thought I had it pretty good until the economy started falling apart in 2008. Since then I've seen the amount of work I do go through the roof while my pay has stayed at the same level. I like the place I work and I don't think anyone here is purposefully trying to take advantage of me but the facts are that I feel like I'm being underpaid. I've been keeping track of my workload since I've been here and if things stay the way they are I will have done 80% more work this year than I did the last. In addition my firm has not given anyone a cost of living raise in over two years and just recently stopped their retirement match. We have experienced one layoff this year which removed about 20% of our total workforce but according to management we are back in the black or should be by year's end.

So I'm left with a dilemma, I've seen my workload almost doubled in 12 months and if this were any other time I'd march into the bosses office and demand an equally large increase in my pay, however things are economically unsteady and I'm afraid they'd just turn a deaf ear and tell me to be thankful I still have a job. How would you deal with this problem?

This is typical for the industry and really typical across the board right now. I have a friend who is under paid, but am certain those deficiency is keeping someone else in the office employed. In other words, we are all on 'teams' -- and sometimes you are keeping another alive.

I would be rather conservative with challenges, frustrations, and $. Being under employed is much better than not being employed at all. Be patient...