CAD (.STEP) to Maya IMPORT - Tutorial and Questions

Joghurt

Hi, folks!

First of all: I'm very sorry that my english isn't the best. But I hope you all understand my problem.

I'm also relatively new in the CGI-business (I just started with Maya sine a few month), and it could be that some step of my worflow sounds a little bit crazy.

In my first project i wanna do a product-visualization of an industrial robot which I designed with the CAD tool CATIA.

Now i wanna do some small visualization clip of this robot with animations and HiRes-renderings with Vray for Maya2011.

I feel save with the basic modelling and animations tools of Maya. I also acquired advanced knowledge in rendering techniques with Vray.

My problem for now is "just" the import of the CAD file. I didn't find any good tutorial/infos for importing 3D CAD files in Maya so I started a mass of importing-test.

But with no realy satisfactory result :(

I will now explain my importing workflow, in hope that someone of you spot some errors in reasoning or some cardinal faults.

My Workflow:

(comment: the file format is .STEP exported from CATIA)

• 1. load DirectConnect Plug-In in Maya

• 2. click on import options and choose as file type (STEP_DC)

• 3. all other import options stay unchanged

• 4. click IMPORT and wait 2h :D (it is a very detailed robot model)

Ok, so far I have a model in NURBS but for UV-mapping and redering I don't wanna use NURBS (I also modeled the environment in Polys)

I thought it's a good idea to do a Polytrans so I do the following steps:

• 5. Modify > Convert > NURBS to Poly (this is the most confusing step for me. I don't know which type and which tessellation method is the best. I also don't understand the settings of each tessellation method)