ArchViz training material advice?

Brodie Geers

I've been subscribing to 3d World for a couple years now but, while I enjoy it, I no longer feel like I'm getting my money's worth. There's rarely anything that I've found helpful in the way of archviz training and while I enjoy the free assets that are included on the CD, I don't find myself using them much (I do mostly exterior renderings so the sofas and bowls are all collecting dust).

So I'm looking for some advice on where I might better spend about $300 USD for some training material. Let me try and explain where I'm at and what I might be interested in.

I've been doing ArchViz for about 3+ years now working mostly with SketchUp, Maxwell Render, and Photoshop. I've been trying to grasp 3ds Max & V-Ray so that if I get the opportunity to work in an archviz firm I'll have the required knowledge (I'm currently a one-man team at a design build firm). I'd also like to have the ability to do animations with Vray.

Here are some things I'm weak in...

1. modeling in 3ds Max

2. understanding/creating materials in Vray

3. exterior rendering setup (combo of environtment, camera, and render settings) in Vray

Here are some things I think I could be better at...

1. composition (creating a beautiful photographic composition through camera placement, vegetation arrangement, color, etc.)

2. high end post-production (I have a solid knowledge of PS as a tool but I feel I could benefit from some techniques like how best to add details like wear and tear, limited amounts of dirt to add realism without looking dirty, and other details in PS as well as more general tweaks that might be used by architectural photographers)

I currently have 3DATS Beginner to Intermediate 3ds max book and really liked it. I'll definitely be looking into the next book in the series. I also have 2 Vray tutorials from Gnomon (GI for interiors and exteriors).

Any suggestions?

-Brodie