Are kitchen design & joinery firms a viable market?

Rich O

Keen to hear opinions on this. Here's a little anecdote:

So I'm just starting out in archviz, paid visits to two kitchen design & joinery firms today peddling my services using the "I'm just starting out and looking for portfolio work, will do a job for you pro bono" angle...

...and to my surprise I was told they have: software that does "exactly the same thing". Now I'm no Peter Guthrie or Alex Roman, but my Vray kitchen render I showed the guy was pretty good. Even my offer to work for free didn't seem to have interested this guy. Now, I don't believe for a moment his software was anything more than "AmazingKitchenDesigner Pro 2004 Edition" featuring The Sims 2 quality rendering but even so...

So here I am having doubts about what I thought would've been a perfect fit for small-scale archviz.

2 of 3 architects I've approached have shown keen interest but all the same I thought kitchens would be a viable market?

Having spent some time working in the interiors market myself Im not surprised such firms have little interest in outsourcing 3d viz work. There really isnt enough money in typical bespoke kitchen/joinery projects other than for shaded (or coloured if your lucky) orthagraphical projection images from cheap cad software. Perhaps approaching the high end of the market might bear fruit but consider who you approach as the designer is more often than not the middle man between the manufacturer and the manufacturer will have a system in place which is easily repeatable and very cost effective.