Managing 3d model assets

Nats

Hi I am new to 3dsmax and having a problem with some asset models that I have used in a scene. I created this scene a while ago and since then have updated my computer and reinstalled max. When I now go into the scene I get a message saying all the assets have missing textures. I have re-set my project folder correctly and also added all the asset folders of the models (in a separate library folder at the moment) as user paths. I was wondering if I should copy all the models into me project folder rather than leaving them in my library as I have presently? Or should I leave them in the library and just change some other max setting?

I was wondering what professionals do with their 3d models? These ones are of boats that have been created by other people but I will shortly be also wanting to get some cars and people into my model as well. Is it better leaving all these 'standard' models in a library where they will no doubt be used on several jobs. Or are they better copied into the project folder of any project I use them on. That would increase the disk space required quite a bit I would think and if I ever want to change them I would have to change every one in every project so I cant see that being very sensible?

Any advice would be really appreciated thank you.

Nigel

You're texture should be where you placed them still to my knowleadge if you re-install max, max will not removed them from the folder unless you deleted the folder into you're Recycle Bin open it and restore them if you have not empty it. if you have i don;t think there is anyway to get them back. or you have moved them to another location. if you backup your model and textures then you should still have them on dvd/cd somewhere.

of course you can copy your model into another folder if you want too just use the save as button in the file menu.

i useally burn my models and texture onto a dvd so i have a backup just incase windows or max crashes.