Which plugins and workflow for Revit

Good morning friends. I would like to get some feedback if possible.

I have been using 3DS Max and VRay for appox 12 years along with many of the other pre and post production tools. I am currently working for an architect that has fully embraced Revit (and the BIM process) with Sketchup also being used on a more limited basis.

Being in a mixed role with graphics management and also producing high end marketing animations and renderings I am looking for the best solution for Revit that allows for good quality renderings to be produced by myself and others in the office. For everyday quick design/visualization I would like to start to move more towards working in Revit and bypass 3DS Max and VRay. I know some would shoot me for saying that. High end and fantastic has its place but quick and pretty (or quick and beautiful if possible) is very important for the design process as well as surviving in a integrated delivery system.

My question is, what rendering plugins (if any) are you guys using to leverage Revit's capabilites and what kind of road blocks are you running into? Does Revit meet your rendering and animation needs? If so, what is the workflow that your finding is working best for you and your office.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Edited by Travis Smith
updated title

Revit as a rendering engine has zero capabilities and is slow beyond imagination. Mental Ray that ships with Revit is a very stripped down version, think a Ferrari body with a Yugo engine. Your best bet is to stay with Max, but swap Vray for Mental Ray.

With Max's and Revit's file linking capabilities, you won't really need to run into long exporting/importing processes. You'll be able to keep a live link back to Revit so you'll get changes as they come. You'll keep the Revit materials but gain a stronger and faster version of Mental Ray.