V Ray materials in 3Ds MAX HELP needed

rokasrokaso

V Ray MATERIALS HELP NEEDED!!!

Hello people,

I am having a stupid trouble due importing v ray materials to 3Ds MAX (.mat files)

I download v ray material from
www.vray-materials.de
which looks like this:
http://www.vray-materials.de/all_mat...?kingsize=2404

And when i import it to 3Ds MAX it looks like this:
http://postimage.org/image/44bcki97l/

I dont even find how to import a regular .jpg to use it as a material.

I am new with V ray in 3Ds MAX. And I am working on some project and I need to make renderings but I am facing this problem and I cant find any tutorials about it. S.O.S.

Hello my friend, I saw the images you have posted, and the difference and issue you are talking about. I faced these kinds of problems at first when I was learning materials in VRay.

Basically, these types of materials depend on the bitmaps for a lot of their realism, like the surface properties (bump, reflection glossiness, amount of reflection). When we try to import some material in the library of max, usually max looks up for the actual path of the bitmaps, place where the bitmap was originally stored, during the creation process. Since our PC does not have those special names of the directories, max can not find bitmaps, for example, I create a material and I have all of my bitmaps stored in C:\Users\SomeName\Documents\Textures, my max will register this path as the first priority to look for, even if I export my material as a .mat file. Now, when someone else downloads my material from internet, their PC will look for the path which has been assigned for the bitmaps previously, but it will not be able to find it. This will create a mess and the materials will not work as they should.