Why v-ray is better than mental ray

ramy

Ok. I've been working on an animation for the last several months using mental ray. I've been really happy with the lighting results, but totally frustrated with the sampling. I switched over to unified sampling in mental ray hoping it would work faster...it did, but even with the noise in the image I was still getting 30min / frame @ 800px.

It was just too slow for an animation. So I thought I'd switch everything over to v-ray. WOW. Off the bat I was getting crazy fast rendering times with very comparable results.

I will say that the materials and lighting in mr are more "physically accurate", the results in v-ray are great considering the render times.

Here are my results...

vrayVsMr.jpg

If you want to know more about my sampling tests here are the links:

DMC vs. Unified

Unified sampling

happy rendering!

I too started with Mental Ray, and I didn't switch because of the render times, or even image quality really because I think it's just as capable. I switched because when I hit my memory limit in mental ray (which was 6gb at the time) then it would crash the render. Vray however just carries on (albeit a bit slower because it has to cache things to HD, presumably) and means that I never have to worry about coming in to work in the morning to a failed render. THAT is why I love VRay... Oh and that people can suggest something on their forums and they go away and implement it ASAP! Wonderful tech support.

I'm new on this forum, but what in the world is causing that MR render to take 30 minutes? There is no way that should take more than 5-10 tops, with no noise at all. Are you trying to brute force the Final Gather? I would love to get my hands on the scene and check it out.

I'd also like to see your mr set-up because other than the unified sampling issue there is something funky going on. I suspect its the lights, especially the portal light?? and the pendant lights above the counter.