Can you even survive doing architectural visualization without V-Ray?

ChrisLSimpson

I am about to graduate from college in May, and I want to be able to get a job somewhere doing architectural visualization. I have only used mental ray, but it seems that everyone everywhere is using V-Ray. I looked in the WIP thread and went though 6 random pages. Every single project on every page used V-Ray.

I have finished a test render of a building I have been working on and compared to even the most basic V-Ray renders of people that say its the very first thing they ever did, it doesn't look as nice. Ive been working on 3d rendering for 3 years using just mental ray and have seen images here of people that just started 3dsmax/V-Ray create better looking images in one weekend using V-Ray than I have created in a month using Mental Ray.

That being said, without using V-Ray do I even stand a competitive chance of getting a job anywhere without using V-Ray? It seems that using V-Ray makes any image look better regardless of how little time is spent on it. I want to be able to get a job when I graduate, so should i switch over to V-Ray even though my computer would barley be capable of running it?

Edited by ChrisLSimpson

You can create just as good (or even better) images with mental ray as you can with VRay. Some pros are still using mental ray because it "feels" better to them. There are techniques you have to master with both and the post production is really important. I'm pretty sure nobody sends the images to the client without correcting it in photoshop or any other software.

Mental ray and Vray are similar. People say Vray is the easy way of creating beautiful images. Well I dont think so, there are so many things you can change that it needs practice to get used to it and to create really nice pictures (same with mental ray though).