Real Time Arch Viz

paulfox

Hello, I'm new here but assuming this is the correct place to post this...

I'm currently studying for an MA in 3D Digital Design and am doing my thesis on the viability of game engines for real-time architectural visualisations (mostly going to be using UDK) and wondered what people's experiences of them are?

Do many people use them commercially and if so have you found that it helps clients/architects/property developers etc.?

Any help would be brilliant, thanks!

The killer for real time arch viz in the early phases, for most places, is simply the deadlines imposed. It is near impossible to get a good quality real time presentation in the, "Oh we need this in 2 days" mentality. Then, you have the last 2 hours before its due changes that inevitably come along. All of that fights and clogs the pipeline that is needed to get good real time visuals. This isn't the jam my 5 billion poly SketchUp model in UDK and cross my fingers and hope it comes out good. To see how that screws things up, all you need to do is look at the Dallas Cowboys stadium that was done in UDK. Which has a playback of about 2 fps and the giant rows of exactly scaled and oriented trees.

However, once the bid and designs have been established you gain yourself a bit more time and real time becomes feasible.