New PC Build Opinions Needed!

Hi,

I'm looking to build a PC used for applications such Adobe Premier Pro and After Effects, Autodesk Autocad, Maya and Showcase. I'm not a professional but do video editing, animation and 3D design mostly as a hobby at the moment but am looking to study 3D design at university next year so will need a good computer to cope with the stresses of the various CAD software. I also edit videos as a hobby and may use those skill at university next year. So I need a computer which wont let me down in these areas of work. This is the components i am thinking of puting into my PC and i was wondering if you could give me your opinion or any suggestions/advice on the build as a whole for the applications i am going to be using.

CPU- intel i7 4770K

CPU cooler- Noctua NH-D14

Motherboard- ASUS Z87 pro ATX

Memory- Patriot Viper 3 16GB DDR3-1866

Storage- Kinston hyperX 3K 240 GB SSD and 1TB Western Digital Caviar Black 7200rpm

Power supply- Corsair 550W ATX12v

Case- NZXT Phantom

You'll notice that I have left out the GPU that because this is were Im still unsure, I'v been looking at the Nvidia quadro K4000 or the AMD Firepro W7000 or maybe a SLI GTX 680 or the GTX 780 but i would much appreciate an opinion on any of the cards or even a alternative which I haven't listed and whether the cards are overkill for what I looking to do and I don't need to spend so much money!

I am planning on overclocking my system to about 4.5 GHz using ASUS 4-way optimization process.

The last thing I was wondering was how well a top spec Imac would deal with the applications I want to use?

Many thanks

A few comments:

Haswell chips don't overclock as well as the previous generation. I've seen it said that some fairly high percentage of 4770K chips won't go above 4.2 without losing stability, and to get that high you need a lot of cooling.