Need help with contracts

stayinwonderland

I never use contracts which is kinda risky I think. At the end of each project there's always a little delay in payment and I realise that I'd be pretty much screwed if they decided not to pay.

As I'm new to arch vis, I only have a couple of clients but only one is regular. We live close by and he seems like a reasonable person. He's an architect and offers visualisation, via me, to his clients but he refuses to pay me deposits and really only pays me once I've given him what the client needs.

Just recently, I completed a project, working day and night for a week, handed him over the goods along with an invoice and he said the client has put the project on hold. A lot of these fine points are covered over the phone too. He said that he'd pay me himself and, quote, "hopefully" get some payment off the client.

So should I ask to be put in touch directly with his clients and make them sign something? Or make him sign something?

If so, is there any resource for helping me get started on drafting up a contract for archi viz clients?

He said that he'd pay me himself

Of course he'll pay you himself.... he's your &^%*# client! Most of us have probably heard similar and it irks beyond belief. Just insults the intelligence. As you say, ask to be put in touch with his client directly then. That may galvanize him into action, as it'd reflect very badly on him if you did ever make contact directly.