Price charged for Rendering Time.

Lebrun

Hello everybody,

I need somme advices here. Its' been 9 months that I work as a freelancer and there is a point that I'm not comfortable with in each price quotation that I've done : How much do you charge for rendering time.

It is like 50%/75% of your hourly rate for each hour of rendering? Or just a fix price for each render you do (considering time).

Honestly I miss that point and think that I'm undercharge this step in my work, but maybe not too.

Thanks a lot in advance for your advices.

Cheers,

Pascal

Thanks for your comment Matt,

it's sure that it cost something for me to render good quality work, that I think I have to consider this cost. Right now it count maybe for 5 % of my total price for a project. I dont know if it's fair that way.

I agree with Matt, I wouldn't put a cost down for rendering as it's something that can be done in the background. Animations are different though, especially if you are rendering on a remote farm.

If you find you are waiting for renders instead of doing tasks, then you need to look at your work-flow and hardware.

Dean

""I wouldn't put a cost down for rendering as it's something that can be done in the background.""