3Ds Max GPU impact on rendering - GPU vs CPU.

Hi guys, I've been using 3Ds Max with VRay for a few years now, but only on a standard PC. I'm in the process of buying a new workstation, I have all the components I wish to buy but have come unstuck on the GPU.

I am unsure how the GPU affects render times - I'm currently utilising VRay with the CPU only on long render runs - Up to 48 hours rendering vehicle/character animations. Can I impact these render runs with the GPU or shall I stick to pure CPU power or can I combine the two together.?

If I can use the CPU & GPU in unison would investing in a Quadro card such as the k4000 yield any improvement over say a GTX 780.?

I'm essentially asking two questions - 1. Is it beneficial to use the GPU & CPU together when rendering or simply the CPU.? If so how can this be done.?

2. If using the GPU to render long animation scenes does a Quadro card have a better impact than a GTX.?

Thanks for any answers.! : )

1. The GPU is not used for any aspect of "normal" renders with VRay advanced, Mental Ray or any other traditional renderer. It never had. It will get there, but it is not right now.

Will make virtually no difference rendering something on a workstation with "on-board" graphics/IGP, GTX 780, GT 610, Radeon 7750 or any Quadro. The fact that machines labeled as "workstations" marketed to people "rendering stuff" come options that contain "workstation" GPUs, mainly Quadros & Firepros have nothing to do with "rendering" itself.