V-Ray Render Prepasses taking a very long time

jessicagunraj

I'm quite new to V-ray rendering. I've rendered a couple dozen scenes in the past few months I've been learning 3ds Max and V-Ray but this week is the first time I've encountered such long pre-pass times.

It has been 8 hours and I am only halfway through the third prepass. I'm using light cache and irradiance map and basically the same settings I used for most of my other renderings (all of which had relatively short prepass times - 10 minutes to 2 hours for all passes).

My question. Are long pre-passes normal or is this indicative of some other issue? Also, does a long pre-pass mean a short render time? {I would hate to sit through 10 hours of pre-pass only to discover that I have another 40 hours of render when I could cancel and tweak my settings.)

Hi Jessica,

First of all. Your processor power is most important thing when you fire any render. second check your settings.Is your priority of high quality? or mid quality will OK for you?

Best Luck for Your Prepasses!! :)

Edited by hrishikeshp

Thank you for your advice. My system has the Ivy Bridge i7 processor and 16 GB RAM, so I think that processing power should be sufficient.

In the interest of time (I thought), I've been doing mid-quality renderings. I'm using Irradiance Map (standard pre-populated settings for medium) and Light Cache w/ 2000 subdivisions. The resolution is 2000x2000.

I've been watching the video that Ismael linked and I find it incredibly helpful. In truth, I hadn't realized the importance of increasing material and lighting subdivisions. I've just been rendering at the default and wondering at the weird graininess of some of my images. (I think I probably should be embarrassed at my lack of knowledge. I've read/watched dozens of tutorials recently but somehow that lesson did not stick.)