Unreal engine 4 for ArchViz

Hi guys! I'm new in the archviz field and I was watching some tutorials about the new features of the Unreal engine 4. The engine seems very powerful and pretty easy to use.

Is there a place in the arch viz world for realtime visualization? Is it a feature that could be more used eventually or I would be wasting my time by learning it? I would eventually like to work for a architectural or urban design firm and make visualization for them.

You can watch this serie of videos about creating a basic level (office) in unreal engine 4.

thanks!

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I can't really really say there is large demand at the moment, although that shouldn't matter. The moment you create an interesting work with it that some sort of client might seems helpful, you're set.

Although I am long time CryEngine user, I just couldn't pass up on owning Unreal4 ! What a deal :- )

unreal.jpg

...What a deal :- )

It really is a great deal since you can continue using the most current version from your subscription even if you let your subscription lapse.

I think this technology has a lot of factors behind it that will push it to be far more relevant in arch-viz over the next 10 years than it has been over the last 10, one of the most notable factors being the likelihood of VR becoming mainstream.

I will likely be subscribing soon as well, but less for reasons related to arch-viz and more related to personal interest in game development.

I will likely be subscribing soon as well, but less for reasons related to arch-viz and more related to personal interest in game development.

Well, even though I toy with idea to trying it for some type of projects, I use these likewise mostly because of my interest in game development :- ). It's my hobby so I am happy to play around even in case I wouldn't use it for archviz.