should i switch to rhino from 3ds max ??

shayanf

hey guys... Im an architecture student and iwant to work as a 3d modeler and visualizer... for that purpose I'v tried to learn 3ds max as an all-rounder (BTW i know how to use autocad-sketchup-photoshop and a bit of vray ) but the problem is although i've put considerable amount of time on learning 3ds max i still dont seem to get comfortable with it ...! i mean modeling almost everything is full of problems . so i thought maybe i should start learning rhino and model everything in it and then export it to max for rendering with vray...... so what do you think ?? is rhino really more handy and easy to use ?? is it suitable for regular architecture ( i mean like modeling a normal apartment or a minimalistic villa ) or is it just best for organic shapes and stuff like that ?? and what about interior design ?? does it have the right tools for modeling small details and decorative stuff ?? what about elevation design ?? and finally does rendering an exported rhino file (exported with npower plugin ) in max affects the rendering time ?

Thank U so so much for your time....and pls give a complete answer :))

• 4 months later...

Hello,

Max and Rhino are different.

Rhino is NURBS modeler which provide wide range of tools for architects, industrial designers etc. but this is program which allow you to design stuff and make it ( CNC, 3d printing, documentation making - cause NURBS are very precise / for eg. curve is driven by math formula / also with grasshopper can be parametric modeler - and here organic stuff is ) and if you wish render it with 3rd party renderer like Thea, Maxwell, Octane or Vray etc.