Absolute Beginner

michaeladam

Hello,

I'm an absolute beginner at 3Ds max and all of architectural rendering. My question is where do I start? Are there any tutorials that can walk me through a simple project?

Another question is: Do architectural firms hire individual renderers? Or do Architectural renderers usually live off of freelance?

I'm in my last year of Highschool and any tips that can be given would be much appreciated. Including tips about what kind of school I should look for and how I should spend my time improving my skills.

Sorry if these questions are super basic!

I suggest you start out with the 3dsmax + Vray wombo combo. It really worked out for me. For 3ds max tutorials there are tons of resources out there on the net. For Vray tutorials i can recommend only Grant Warwick's Mastering VRay and it will be the only vray tutorial you would ever need. Most architectural firms have their own in-house renderers but more then often they do source out parts of projects to freelancers.

Michael welcome to the website,

to answer your questions, first, there is hundreds of tutorials online, you also have several options in book if you like to read and follow along, ( I do) there is also some online curses most of them very good, some of them more expensive than useful. I would recommend go first with the free ones that you get everywhere. Archviz is an evolving profession so never aspect to know everything, or do not believe when some body tell you I will teach you all what you need, because, it always change and it is up to you to keep up with technology and acknowledgement.