How can I replicate this?

Hi there,

first post, be gentle ; )

I have this client, who wants me to make a series of pictures like this one for an advertising campaign:

article-0-12E1AF55000005DC-727_634x636.jpg

50c9a0dd5b8c36fe3b08178b0f654c4c.jpg

00d567959f81a7a37c2586897428dc7c.jpg

I know how to do that in photoshop manually, but it takes too much time. Then i googled around and found out that I can do that by using 3d software and even create videos.

Basically, my task is to create different kinds of shapes from "people / crowds" - on example is a cup of tea from a 90 degree angle, or a world-map in birds-eye.

I am considering buying a 3D suit that allows me to easily create shapes (from vectors?) by using crowds - the problem is there are so many, and I have absolutely no experience so far. I am good in PS and AI though. I have limited experience with sketchup too.

Any advice for that task?

Thanks so much,

George

• 3 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
Hire somebody. If you are going to learn how to do this on your client's dime, then I think you are cheating your client.

This is really late to the party but I think this is really really bad advice. There might be a lot of room for interpretation in this, but I feel that you should ALWAYS be learning. If you only do what you know how to do, you'll be left in the dust while only being able to produce a sub-par product. Push the boundaries, test the limits, and continue to grow and evolve.

Basically do what PK said though... seems like an easy problem to solve. I don't think Andrey's solution is the one for this application.