Rendering blowout or exposure issue, rendering freezing - DBR

chrishuntsman

So I am relatively new to 3DS max and rendering in Mental Ray. Tonight I am getting an issue I don't really understand. I am getting this really bright spot (over exposed?) in my image, don't have any lights in that location. Maybe someone in this forum knows exactly what it is?

Also, every time I cancel the test rendering 3DS max freezes. It also freezes at the end of the rendering when its complete. I am using DBR, which might be the issue, but I hope not. I understand backburner might resolve this issue but I would really prefer to use DBR if possible (I really like seeing the progress on my screen)

I have tried googling and searching for an answer so sorry if this issue has already been addressed many times, I am sure I am not using the right keywords when searching for an answer. Try typing in 'rendering issue' and see how many results you get :).

I have also looked through the light lister to make sure there isn't a rouge light chilling out right there.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

rendering blowout.jpg

well I turned off the sky portion of the daylight system and now the bright spot is gone. I also disabled DBR and then tried canceling the rendering, which didn't freeze the rendering. so it looks like DBR is causing my rendering progress to hang up at 100%, won't do the clean up. Anyone know how to resolve that so I can still use DBR?

Thanks for the suggestion. It will render to 100% and never proceed to clean up, but I am still able to save out the image. So all is not lost, but its still frustrating. I have even tried cycling through each render slave to see if one in particular was hanging it up. This didn't conclude anything since I kept getting different results. I guess I better settle for backburner. On the plus side it will let me use more then 4 render slaves.

I will try rendering it as a 2 framed animation and see what happens.