snurre

Hi all!

I've been browsing around for the last few days, trying to find an answer to this, with no luck. I'm a noob, this will be my first post on cgarchitect.

When I render my scene with material override things are looking good, but when adding my own Standard Material, light leaks are appearing. So I guess something is wrong with the material settings? (I've been trying to bump up the Irradiance map min. rate. with no success.)

Also, can anyone explain what is the difference between a "Vray material" and a "Standard material"? Why is there no place for a bump map when making a "Vray material"

I am using Vray with Rhino.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

light leak.jpg

settings.jpg

Try unticking the "Store direct light" option in the light cache for a start. If that does not fix it - Increase the subdivs in the LC and reduce the sample size. Also tick the "check sample visibility" in the IR. Before all of this check that the geometry does not have any actual gaps that lets light in. ....This has all been said before I know

Tried unticking "store direct light" in the light cache, increased the subdivs in the LC to 1500, and reduced the sample size to 0.1. Also ticked the "check sample visibility" in the IR. Still, the bleed/leak remains. The geometry has a thickness, and is walls/ceiling are overlapping.

Tried using Brute Force as secondary engine, which seems to clean it up quite a bit.

It's just very annoying not finding the cause of it all...

tests.jpg

So as a final effort i bumped up irradiance map to 2, -2

The leak is quite gone, but I'm left with longer render times, and a more grainy image.

If anyone has thoughts on how to tweak this, I'm happy to hear.

In the mean time, I will go through a comprehensive tutorial on vray, as it is clear I need a deeper understanding of how the parameters interact.

test.jpg