which modelling/ rendering package should i invest in?

garyarnold

I am an architect who wants to develop my portfolio with some nice renderings. I am not sure which software to get. I use a PC and AutoCAD. I used 3d studio many years ago at uni but its so expensive. I know there are lots of different options but my problem is that having not used any of them I don't know where to start and in don't have alot of time to investigate each and every one of them. Google sketch up is quite cheap but as far as i know its rendering is limited. I want to produce some photographic 'realistic' resolution Images. Would appreciate some firm guidance. Thanks.

Hi Gary,

There are a couple of key issues that spring up in your post:

1) You mention a lack of time,

2) you mention the expense of software.

Don't get me wrong, far be it from me to say you can't achieve what you want, but this does sound a little naive. To explain:

1) Architectural Visualisers that produce good work, typically spend an awful lot of time developing there skills.

2) The price of industry standard software would be considered a significant and necessary investment for anyone taking their work seriously.

However to answer your question more specifically, (there will be a range of opinions from the community) you should certainly consider the obvious contenders; being: 3ds Max, V-Ray, Photoshop. This is probably the most common set of tools. Having said that, there are many advocates for alternative solutions, some of which may be cheaper and similar in capability.

You likely require a 3D Solution, a Renderer, and a tool for Post-Production, and there are many of these on the market, such as:

Blender

Modo

Cinema4D

Maya, etc.

V-Ray

Corona

Mental Ray

Octane, etc.

Photoshop,

After Effects,

Gimp,

Aperture, etc.