reporting illegal software

reportmax

Hi All,

Don't know if anyone of you ever came to a point where you wanted to decide on reporting illegal software from a company. I am kind of now in that situation. I have been working in the field of Architectural Visualization for over 10 years as a freelancer and lately I've been asked for a job by on of the bigger visualization companies.

This seems to be a company that charges more than enough for their products, hence my surprise I found out every piece of software they are using is illegal. V-ray, the full list of Autodesk products, complete Adobe suites and an immense library were all to be downloaded and used illegal.

As a freelancer I know it is hard to keep your software up to date. And with worse and better years I have been able to upgrade my software or invest in Libraries or Plugins. This is a company that not only has the money but seems to need only a month of work from each person to be able to afford a full range of products on a work on that persons workstation.

This to me seems unfair. They are obviously taking jobs away from other offices around the world. Other bigger offices might have been struggling or even had to close the because of the economical situation which had a major impact on everybody in this business, especially when they had to maintain their software subscriptions/licenses.

So, I don't know what your thoughts are on this or have you ever been in a similar situation? Please advise.

• 5 months later...

I think this may be a very late answer or comment regarding your post, but I know what you are talking about, been there.