Software advice for freelancing?

mrjackel

Hello. I am a novice architectural visualiser and I aim to freelance directly for clients. I would like to get some software advice. My main software requirements are speed, simplicity, cost and image quality. As I don't plan to work with other studios/freelancers, I am not concerned about file exchange.

I am already experienced in 3ds Max, and I'm aware that 3ds Max/Vray has always been the standard. What I'd like to know is, is that still the route that I should go, or are there better solutions for someone with my needs?

3ds max is excellent and you already know the software. I'ts a plus. Best renderers for architecture scenes are vray and corona in my opinion. If you don't have any experience with either, try corona first. I'ts easier to learn and cheaper! You can investigate Unreal engine 4 if real time stuff interest you. The engine is free and royalty-free for arch viz! hope that help!

3ds max is probably best, but I wondered if sketchup or rhino would be more suitable.

I use SketchUp for all my modeling, and render in Max. Although, you can achieve the same effect with SketchUp and Vray. You can use Proxies in Vray for SketchUp, but I haven't tried that yet to see it's limits and quality and how it handles that large of scenes. As far as render quality, it's about 90% of where Vray for Max is. That 10% can be big though. There are free render engines for SketchUp, but not quite up to the quality of Vray.

The file exchange issue also comes up when dealing with clients. An architect might give you a preliminary max/vray model or request a model at the end. Of course there are work-arounds but it's one less thing to clutter your brain with.

I'm trying to think if there's ever been a case where a newcomer has succeeded in overtaking a really entrenched standard. I guess maybe Chrome and Firefox with Explorer.