Which one to choose? GTX 580, GTX 590 or GTX 780 (not ti).

Hello everyone. It´s been a long time since I begun to read this forum but until now I never decided to write, and I am doing now because I have a big doubt and the more I read the more confused I get.

I´ll try to be clear:

I am a 3D artist (still studying and learning) and I primarily use 3Ds Max and Vray or Mental Ray to render (still deciding which one I like the best). I´d like to begin to use Vray RT and I am trying to find out which card of the following ones you would recommend me and why:

GTX 580 1,5 gb vram (120$)

GTX 590 3 gb ram (split into 2 cores) (210$)

GTX 780 (3gb monocore)(260$)

I have read that the 580 and 590, when rendering, are about the same and they work in a very similar way since the 590 is dual core and it divides the amount of ram (and 3ds max or vray Rt can´t take advantage of both cores, just of one of them, resulting in a maximum of 1,5 gb of ram). My questions are:

1- Does Vray RT take advantage of both core´s Cuda Cores or just of one of them as it does with ram? Does it add both core´s Cuda Cores number when rendering?

2- What are the advantages of a 590 when compared with a 580? This is a little confusing to me.

It behaves like two 580s in Sli.

3- What advantages does this have in relation to using a simple core Gtx 580? Is it worth it the extra cost?

4- And about 780, which has a simple core with 3gb of ram; should I go for it?

5- What about the behaviour of the viewport? Does it drastically change when using one or another of the listed cards?

Thanks a lot in advance! I´d really appreciate if someone could clarify this to me.

Edited by danielperez

• Vray RT can use both GPUs on the 590, pretty much in the same way it could use two discreet 580s
  • Each GPU on the 590 has access ofc to 1,5GB RAM.