Vray Spawner In a WAN

c-boogie

I've been running a small farm in my office for about 10 years now. We have about 15 dedicate machines and about 20 more office computers that kick on at night. We use backburner for the most part, but often take over a few of the dedicate boxes to run spawner for larger or more complicate still renderings. This all works just fine.

Our corporate HQ has decided to supplement the farm with an additional farm in our main office. They have another 12 dedicated servers up there and are set up in a similar fashion to my office. The idea is that our rendering resources will eventually be consolidated there and will be opened up to everyone in the company.

So my first task is to get Spawner running in this WAN environment. On it's most basic level, I have it running just fine (unc paths, permissions, services, etc.) I have that working like a champ. However, the issue I'm running into is figuring out how to make this work more effectively. When I was using the dedicated machines on my LAN, access speed for my local machine and the dedicated boxes were equal. Now in this WAN scenario, if my scene is large enough or has a lot of linked assets (proxies, larger maps, xref's, etc.) the machines in the remote office take 20-30 minutes to show up in the vray log window.

So . . . what exactly is Spawner transferring to each machine? The entire scene? Just the maps and network assets? i think i just need a cleared understanding what is happening "under the hood" when spawner is running. Does anyone out there run a system like this? If so, any tips or lessons learned? Any insight would help.

I don't know what I'm talking about. That being said, what if you tried locating your working projects to a sync'd location, like a Google Drive folder on your desktop so all the other computers are sync'ing that folder locally. Then, tell Vray to NOT "Transfer missing assets" in the Distributed Rendering Settings dialog box.