Wanting to specialize in Architectural Visualization, don't know how.

janbigas

Hey guys, I just want to say thanks to everyone that reads and decides to help!

So, I graduated from an architecture bachelors degree about a year ago. I decided during the time I was employed that I wanted to specialize in Arch-Viz; since I was always the designated "Render Guy" and because I really enjoyed it.

But now that I'm here, I couldn't be more lost! The world of Arch-Viz seems daunting from where I'm standing. Its not clear to me if I should: look for a degree in 3D Modeling, just keep working on my own through tutorials or aim for a rendering firm.

I also want to work with augmented/virtual reality, but can't seem to find any courses. I've checked game design degrees, but is that going too far?

I will really appreciate any suggestions or help! Thank you.

I also looked at 3d artist degrees in my town but most courses are too game-oriented. You have a degree in architecture it's already a huge plus in my opinion. I think you should stick with online courses or tutorials for the 3d modeling/texturing/lighting/rendering. It's possible to learn quite fast. At school, they'll teach you how to build a game level or model game assets...it does not really apply to arch-viz. Better spend your time learning composition and photography imo. Just be patient and try to read as much as you can about visualisation. The VR stuff is pretty new, I mean, the hardware isn't even there yet (for the most part)!!! Gotta rely on forums and youtube :-)

-Learn the basics of a 3d modeling software, ideally 3ds max for the amount of plugins/scripts/render engines available.

-Learn an easy to setup renderer like Corona to start with (almost a one-click photorealistic renderer)

-Learn some photoshop post-production techniques

-Install unreal engine 4 and start experiencing real-time arch-viz to eventually make the jump to VR