Digital Artist Qualifications

colejohns

Im not sure if this topic has been discussed before, but here goes. I am currently an interior design student who has a strong interest in working within the architectural visualization field. Unfortunately it seems that (based on a number of previous discussions and job postings) that programs such as 3DS, VRay, and Rhino are all extremely important within the visualization community. I have extensive knowledge of Photoshop, InDesign, SketchUp, Twilight Render, Revit, and other supplementary photo editing softwares, but am afraid that this won't be enough. As an example, you can check out some of my academic work at http://www.colejohns.wix.com/portfolio. In addition, I am very willing to learn any new software that might be required, I just might not have those qualifications when applying to jobs. Could you all help a newbie out by giving me some advice? Thanks in advance!

One big thing that you need to do is make your images clickable to enlarge them. As a portfolio reviewer I want to see your art in my face, full screen style.