garyg1

Hello all,

I am a residential designer who branched out on my own less than a year ago. The business is busy, so much so we had to shut our doors to new work only a month in, and have been slammed ever since, and are measuring a new project on Thursday. The problem is our business model is unsustainable, while my family's need for food will sustain itself quite well.

I need to get advice about our rendering process, because right now we are in a place we will never be again, but will always wish we could go back to. After we make these decisions, enormous amounts of training will begin, along with expensive software and hardware purchases. After that point, the equation changes and whatever system we are using is overvalued simply because of the equity it contains.

We do a variety of things, but our visualization services are our cornerstone, and simply must be vastly improved. Our issue comes in the tedious and far too slow process for creating and changing 3D furniture and casework objects, and the fact that a respectable library of 3d plants is not available. Garish cartoon simulacrums are the best I've seen. Add this to the fact that our renders should be higher resolution, and we have a problem.

We will post a specific question in the proper forum.

Thank you

• 2 months later...
Hello all,

I am a residential designer who branched out on my own less than a year ago. The business is busy, so much so we had to shut our doors to new work only a month in, and have been slammed ever since, and are measuring a new project on Thursday. The problem is our business model is unsustainable, while my family's need for food will sustain itself quite well.