How did you start your Arch Viz journey?

katylou

Wanted to get some insight to how you guys have started your careers in the arch viz industry?

I started by studying 3D Modelling which I eventually went on to do my degree in 3D Animation, however my work was poor. I did further training by studying more, following tutorials, using my spare time to practice and improve my skills which is where I am now. Because of my previous work experience in showroom design, I now work as a Kitchen Planner for a large international company, although its an amazing opportunity with great prospects, I don't want to get too comfortable as it's heavily focused on customer service and weekend work (which doesn't pay too well either...)

Any of you have any careers advice? Would like to know as I am a new to the industry and really want some clear guidance.

• 3 weeks later...

Rather than bore you with a personal story of my journey that ended up in ArchVis, which wouldn't really give you the information you're after, I'll tell you something you probably have heard before.

"It's not what you know, it's who you know." The modern version of which is, "It's not who you know, it's who knows you."

My first full-time 3D job came to me via a friend I went to college with. My first freelance clients came from a colleague I become friends with at that first job. New clients came from old clients. My current full-time job came about from querying multiple designers I had grown to know over time via my freelance clients.